Perhaps no other area of the law is as emotional and gut-wrenching as sex offenses. Under Ohio law, sex offenses range from misdemeanors offenses of public indecency, to serious felony offenses of rape. There are serious penalties associated with a conviction to a sex offense, including mandatory minimum prison time to registering as a sex offender. Most sex offense are not eligible for sealing and expungment.
Sex offense under Ohio law include:
Unlawful sexual conduct with a minor
Gross sexual imposition
On the low end, sex offenses like public indecency and voyeurism may be classified as misdemeanor level offenses. On the high end, sex offenses like rape and sexual battery are classified as felony level offenses.
Most sex offenses carry the burden of sex offender registration. The determination of whether a person must register as a sex offender depends on the specific offense. There are 3 different tiers of sex offender registry that determine (1) how long the offender must register with the government and (2) the specific requirements of registration. Generally sex offenders must register with the sheriff of their county of residence.
Tier 1 sex offenders must register every year for 15 years.
Tier 2 sex offenders must register every 180 days (6 months) for 25 years.
Tier 3 sex offenders must register every 90 days (3 months) for life.
Have you been charged with a sex offense? Contact The Stavroff Law Firm today to learn about your rights and begin building your defense.